Pacific Cup

pacific cup

The 2009 Pacific Cup was held in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. The competing teams were the Cook Islands, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Tonga.

Tonga, Fiji and PNG had their places in the draw confirmed initially, with the Cook Islands defeating Samoa in a Pacific Cup qualifier in Cairns on 17 October 2009 to clinch the final place in the tournament.

The four Pacific Cup matches were played at Lloyd Robson Oval on 24-25 October and 31 October. The final was played on 1 November 2009, Papua New Guinea beating the Cook Islands 42-14. By winning the 2009 Pacific Cup, Papua New Guinea won the right to compete in the 2010 Four Nations tournament.